A woman I had a brief relationship with sent me papers from her lawyer that ask me to sign away my parental rights. The woman is on County Aide so I called the social worker who also told me that the woman wants my rights terminated. DNA was done and 11 markers matched mine so I believe this is my child. I have no relationship with this child. Can I just sign a paper and I am done? No child support and no legal responsibilities? That is what would be best for everyone. I am currently paying $732.00/month. I live in CA and she lives in Nevada. The social worker told me I can and should, but I don't trust her or the mother's lawyer and I don't want to sign away my rights and still pay $732.00/month for 17 years on a child I will never see. Thank you.
Allow me to preface my answer to your question with the disclaimer that I am not licensed to practice law in the state of Nevada and California. Generally even after you sign away your rights you can still be ordered to pay child support, at least in the jurisdictions I practice in. You need to be sure that the form you sign also addresses child support and your permanant relief from the obligation. It may be worth a quick consultation with an attorney licensed in Nevada to be certain.